Love me ’til my heart starts.

23 Sep
Oh look, a blog!

I KNOW. It’s been way too long. But between two jobs, and no laptop for the past few months (RIP laptop…and everything I lost on it. Sob.) my posts would have been boring.

“Today I worked. Yesterday I worked. Tomorrow…I work.”

BUT. Here I am. Still alive after working 7 days a week for the past 6 months.

Back in July, I even went to a few shows that are blogable. I know. July…and its now September. I work 7 days a week. Give me a break, OK?! Have a blog. Here’s a story about a show.

Matt Nathanson’s newest CD came out on July 16th. The day of, he had a CD release show in San Francisco, so Cheryl and I made the trip up to the city to attend the release festivities.

We left early to have a “fun day” in the city.

philz creamery
This happened.

creme brulee

And this.

Oh, and there was tacos from La Taqueria between those. OK, so our fun day revolved all around food. Who care. We walked over 4 miles that day so it that burned off, what? The coffee? 🙂

haightst

The show was at Amoeba Records, and when we arrived, the staff was pretty surprised to see people there early. We weren’t the first to arrive, but they still were all, “You know you girls have 2 more hours to wait, right?” This ain’t my first rodeo, cowboy. I’ve waited much longer…

cheryl and i

When the show finally started, I think my face exploded in a gigantic grin. I hadn’t seen Matt in 7 months, and that’s far too, too, TOO long.

matty live

crowd

After the set, we waited in a line for 1.5 hours to say hi and for Matt to sign our CDs. Why we decided to “Let’s go last!” is stupid. We were hungry and exhausted and Matt is probably the only one who I’d wait for that long. Homeboy for life.

matty talk

When it was finally my turn, I was greeted into a giant embrace and Matt says, “I love when you’re here.” (Stop making me love you!) We made small chit-chat (“How are you? How have you been?” “So good to see you.”) and then…we fought. Haha. First, he spelled my name wrong. “J-O-S-E-L…” “There’s no E in my name!!!” “SHIT! I was just testing you to see if you were drunk.” STOP. Love. You.

MATT :)

CD(You can see where the E turned into an L.)

Story behind the, “Choose Me”: when Matt announced tour dates, I realized his California dates conflicted with Maroon5/Kelly Clarkson shows in California on the same days. Worst nightmare ever. I tweeted something like, “That moment you realize there are Matt and M5 shows on the same day in California… FML.” and he replied, “Um, there’s no real debate here…” Ha.

So, Matt then decided to fight me over who I was going to see. “I’m glad you’re doing good. But you’re going to see Maroon5 and Kelly instead.”
“Um, no. I bought tickets to your shows.”
“No. No.”
“Yes I did! I bought LA and Oakland tickets. I’ll be there!”
“We’ll see..”
I told him again I ultimately chose him, and he mumbled some more nonsense, and I’m all, “I love you the most!” and he just replies, “Oh…” So there.

As we were saying our goodbyes, he goes, “Hey! Do you like bunny grahams? Some nice fan gave them to me but I can’t eat them. Take them for your drive home! Wait, hide them in your bag! In case they’re still here. I don’t want her to see…” Oh my god, adore him. And sorry whoever gave Matt Annie’s Bunny Grahams…I ate them all.

One Response to “Love me ’til my heart starts.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ruling the most. | Complimentary Breakfast - December 5, 2013

    […] week and a half after Matt Nathanson had his CD release show, he played not one, but TWO sets at the fair in Paso Robles. Yes, this is the fair where I danced […]

Leave a Reply

