Peppermint Mocha Cake Mix Cookies.

1 Jan

Happy New Year! With the start of 2013, I bring you a new recipe. Is your resolution for this year to loose weight? If so, you should look past this post, because there is literally nothing healthy about these cookies.
Sugar. Butter. Candy…

Despite all the calories and resolution breaking, you know what the BEST part of this recipe is? EASY. It’s so easy. OK, and they taste really damn delicious, which is a plus, also.

Let’s face it. We don’t always have a lot of time on our hands before, during, or even after the holidays. I had already left all of my holiday shopping to 4 days before the Clause was due to arrive this year, so I went with what I already owned and made these cookies from items I found in my cupboard.

I had planned on making some sort of peppermint bark cupcakes originally, but this year I had nothing but cookies on the brain. Anyone remember that episode of Rugrats where Angelica tells the story of how she first met a cookie? The baby Angelica voice saying, “Cooookie. Cooookie. Cookie, cookie, cookie!” was pretty much me this year.

The morning of a Christmas get together, I was still clueless of what I was going to bake and bring along to share with my friends, until I opened my cupboard and just stared inside and started to pull items out and mixing them together.

My “secret ingredient” that made these cookies super moist and extra chocolately? Instant pudding mix. Five days later, I was still eating leftover cookies, and they never dried out! Why there were leftover cookies, I don’t know. I’m sorry, skinny jeans. You might be a little extra tight these next few weeks…

IMG_1294

Peppermint Mocha Cake-Mix Cookies
     Makes about 26 cookies

Ingredients:

For cookies:
1 box chocolate cake mix
1 box instant chocolate pudding
1 large egg
1 stick of butter
1/4 cup of instant coffee

For frosting:
1 can vanilla frosting
5 – 10 drops peppermint extract (start small, and build up to your intensity level.)
4 mini crushed candy canes

Directions:

Pre-heat oven at 350 degrees.

For the cookies, add the dry ingredients in a medium sized bowl and mix together. Add a room temperature stick of butter to the bowl, plus one large egg.  If butter is not room temp, you can microwave it for a few seconds to soften up. Mix the ingredients deliberately. The mix is going to be very dry, and you will be tempted to add liquid, but just keep mixing! Eventually you will get a batter like texture.

Spray cookie sheets with non stick baking spray. Take 1 and a half tbsp of mix for each cookie, and make small balls of dough. Place balls of dough on the cookie sheets, 2 inches apart, and bake for 8 – 11 minutes. They will look soft and undercooked, but will firm up as they cool.

After cookies have cooled, you can make the frosting. I wanted to make “fancy” cookies, so I decided to dip half of each side.

Take the can of vanilla frosting and remove lid and tin cover. Place in microwave for 30 seconds. Stir. Microwave in additional 10 second increments until frosting is soft and and can be mixed easily. Mix peppermint extract one drop at a time until the peppermint taste is to your preference.

Take each cookie and dip half into frosting. Scrape off excess frosting from bottom of cookie with a butter knife. Sprinkle with candy cane. Repeat! Yes, you can lick the knife when you’re finished.

peppermint mocha cookie

2 Responses to “Peppermint Mocha Cake Mix Cookies.”

  1. elisebakes January 1, 2013 at 7:35 pm #

    These look amazing!!

    • Joslyn January 1, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks. They are definitely amazing. Writing this post up made me want to bake more, haha. 🙂 Mmmm…

Leave a Reply

