Whole Wheat Almond Joy Muffins.

12 Aug

I love Almond Joys. Oh, absolutely love. But, they also make my teeth and my stomach hurt, if I eat more than just one of those bite-sized/fun-sized/oh-so-cute little bars.

I’ve been craving muffins. And chocolate. And almonds. Ding ding! Brainstorm. Done.

I was going to Google a few different recipes, but then decided screw everyone else, I’d doing my own thing. I try to avoid using oil and eggs while baking, because 1) oil is nasty and 2) I’m stingy with my eggs and I only like using them for breakfast. Just saying.

These may even be vegan. I don’t know. Are coconut flakes vegan? Are marshmallows really not vegetarian friendly? Heartbreak.

Whole Wheat Almond Joy Muffins
makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:

1 flax “egg” (1 tbsp ground flax + 3 tbsp water)
1 + 1/2 cups coconut flakes
1 + 1/4 cup almond milk
2 tsp apple cider vinegar
3 tbsp sugar free maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract
2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 tbsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup organic cane sugar
1/3 cup carob chips

Instructions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray a 12 cup muffin tin with non-stick spray.

Add almond milk and apple cider vinegar and set aside. It may foam up, or start to curdle (gross?) but that’s normal and you want that.

Add flax seed and water to a medium sized bowl and stir. Gather all of your dry ingredients and add to bowl. Add wet ingredients and stir until fully mixed. Fold in the coconut flakes and carob chips. I really wanted to add crushed almonds here, but I realized I was out. The horror! I figured the almond milk and extract would do. They did.

Cook muffins for 15 – 18 minutes, or until they spring back to touch. Allow muffins to cool about 10 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack.

I cut one of these suckers up as they cooled and ate half. I ate the other half a few hours later after it had been sitting in the fridge for a bit. For some reason, I think these taste better cold. Each ingredient seems to stand out more individually, once cooled. The chewy coconut, the crunch of the carob chips, the hint of almond. Mmmmm.

These are pretty big in size. I can eat a whole one, and not even get a stomach ache. Oh my love.

Now there are 11 remaining. Save me.

Leave a Reply

