Winter Pumpkin Muffins.

24 Jan

Happy 2012, everyone!

The holidays are over.
It’s officially a new year.
I still have pumpkin on the brain.

Cold weather equals comfort food in my mind, and nothing fits hand and hand more than pumpkin in my mind!

It had been awhile since I had made muffins, so I thought why not bust out the pan and create something new. Since I am still a canned pumpkin hoarder, it was no problem whipping up a ‘kin recipe. I thought I’d get all fancy and try to make a pumpkin cream cheese glaze…but it ended up all lumpy and pretty much gross looking. Still tasted amazing, but I’m not even sharing the recipe for that because its nothing to write home about!

The leftover muffins taste bomb when microwaved for 15 seconds, because the cream cheese gets all gooey and fabulous. Mmmm…

These are even kitten approved. This is my cat, Mocha, trying to get all up in my comfort. I may have cuddled her cute face, but saved all the food for myself. Aren’t I such a great mother?

Winter Pumpkin Muffins
makes 6 muffins

Ingredients:
1/2 oat flour
1/2 whole wheat flour
3 tbsp quick bake oats
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup pumpkin
1 egg
6 T almond (or any dairy of your choice) milk
1.5t cinnamon
1/2t pumpkin pie spice
1.5t vanilla
1/2t salt
1t baking powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, add all dry ingredients and set aside. In a smaller bowl, add wet ingredients and whisk together Add two bowls together, but do not over stir. It’s ok for batter to be a little lumpy.

After paper lining or greasing your muffin pan, add batter to each slot, about 3/4 full.

Bake for 24 – 27 minutes. Muffins will be done when tops are slightly browned and spring at the touch, but are still slightly moist in the center. Let cool for at least 5 minutes in pan, then transfer to cooling rack. Add toppings/frosting to top once cooled, if desired.

One Response to “Winter Pumpkin Muffins.”

  1. Therese Meuel January 24, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    what topping did you use???

Leave a Reply

