Happy Healthy Holiday Cookies!

16 Dec

Admit it: you love cookies, right?

Two nights ago, my sister delivered fresh, homemade cookies to my door.

My first thought: COOKIES!
My second thought: CALORIES.

I worked out earlier in the evening, so I felt OK taking a bite of each one. Even though there were about 8 different kinds. Yeah. OK. Maybe that wasn’t smart. Workout, whaaat?

I’m headed to a little shin-dig this evening, and I wanted to bring something sweet. Like cookies! Damn cookies on the brain. I feel you, cookie monster. But I also wanted to bring cookies that I wouldn’t feel GUILTY about eating. Because let’s face it: I will eat one. But any cookie clocking in under 100 calories is my new BFF.

To make them festive, I added chocolate covered pretzels for the antlers, a red m&m for the nose & cacao chips for the eyes. Totally not an original idea, but still cute!

These cookies are what would come out of if a snicker doodle met a peanut butter cookie and had a baby. Soft and pillowy and delicious. And then Santa came along and punched them with his reindeer cuteness.

Happy Healthy Holiday Cookies:

makes 12 cookies

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cream of tarter
1/4 + 1/8 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup white sugar
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 and 1/2 tbsp milk of choice (i used soy)
1/4 cup butter
2 tbsp peanut butter

Preheat oven to 330 degrees. Add all the dry ingredients and mix well. Melt the butter and add remainder of wet ingredients, plus the peanut butter. Mix dry and wet ingredients well, and mix until dough like texture forms. Roll into little dough-balls.

If you want soft cookies, you need to cool the dough before cooking. True story: I came home from work, made the dough, put them in the fridge, worked out & showered, then came back and put these in the oven. As I added the decorations on them, I ate a salad. Salad, while smelling fresh hot cookies, is not fun.

Cook the cookies for 9 – 10 minutes. When you pull them out of the oven, they’re going to look extremely undercooked, but you want that! Immediately add pretzels and all that other jazz before dough cools and sets. They’ll continue to cook as they cool, so no worries here.

Let cool completely. Do not touch. Smell them while eating your kale. Are you sad, yet? Just look at how cute they are! Be happy!

My sister’s cookies are still being consumed, so I’ll go do some cardio now…it’s the most wonderFULL time of the year!

Leave a Reply

