Chocolate Banana Cheesecake Waffles

20 Oct

&*%^&#$%@#$%

Chocolate.
Banana.
Cheesecake.
Waffles.

These words, stand alone, are some of my favorites. But put them together? YES, please.

My mind did me good this morning.  Oh, so good. Some ideas I get leave me unimpressed. And other times…oh the other times. My somewhat sleep deprived nights are usually the ones where I have the best ideas the following morning. (Thank you, kitten of mine, for jumping all over my bed hours before my alarm was set to go off. Groan.) Maybe I should stop sleeping all together? Breakfast could be amazing every morning that way! Oh, if only I could survive on adrenaline alone…

Chocolate Banana Cheesecake Waffles
Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup quick cooking oatmeal
1 tbsp non sweetened cocoa powder
1 “flax egg” (1 tbsp ground flax seed, 3 tbsp water)
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 frozen banana, cubed
1 tbsp fat free cream cheese, cubed
1/4 cup almond milk

Cheesecake Sauce:

1 tbsp fat free cream cheese
1/8 cup plain greek yogurt
slash of almond milk
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

I realized my box of pancake/waffle cheater mix has a ton of sodium in it! Smart move, Joslyn. So, its back to the homemade goods!

Pre-heat waffle iron on high.

Mix all dry ingredients together. Add milk and mix well. Cube the banana and cream cheese and gently fold into batter.

Turn iron down to medium heat, and spray with non-stick spray. Add batter to iron and cook for 3 – 5 minutes, or whenever waffle lifts off iron clean.

While waffle is cooking, add sauce ingredients to small bowl and mix well. This tastes very similar to cheesecake. I wanted to drink it, straight up. Word.

Plate waffle and top with cheesecake sauce. I added sliced almonds to top it all off. Smart. It mimics the crust taste of cheesecake. Drool.

Drizzle with syrup if desired. I did. (I bought a new brand of sugar free syrup and its amazing and I want to eat it on everything! Wait, maybe not everything…)

Eat this. Imagine its real cheesecake. Celebrate the fact you are not eating millions of calories!

3 Responses to “Chocolate Banana Cheesecake Waffles”

  1. Therese Meuel October 20, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Wholly GOD this sounds good! I may have to go buy a waffle iron….

  2. Jeanne October 21, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    This sounds sooooooooooooo good. It’s gotta be a sin.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banana Stuffed French Toast « Complimentary Breakfast - November 9, 2011

    […] 3 slices Flax Seed Bread 1 egg 1/4 cup Almond Breeze 1 tsp cinnamon 1 small banana “Cheescake Sauce” […]

Leave a Reply

