Cheaters’ Pumpkin Pancakes

15 Oct

Cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater.

Today I was at Target, and something compelled me to buy a box of pancake mix. Say whaaaaat? I am all about my homemade pancakes! I love whipping out the flour, baking powder, eggs, milk etc!

But let’s be honest: sometimes homegirl is just HUNGRY. Sometimes I just want pancakes in 5 minutes flat. No gathering. No measuring. Just. Pancakes. Now.

So, I grabbed the $1.99 box, threw it in my cart, and didn’t think twice about it. Just add water sounds fine by me. Even though that’s…cheating.

The box was calling my name the entire time I was driving home. From the trunk of the car I heard,
“Oh Joooooslyn. You want some paaaaancakes?”

“SHUT UP, HUNGRY JACK!” I yelled back. Not really. That would make me crazy, right? Right. I just sang along to Matt Nathanson as I drove…cough.

I stopped at Trader Joe’s on the way back to grab some necessities, and HOLY PUMPKIN MOTHER LOAD. The pumpkin fairy has graced their presence at TJ’s! They are STOCKED on everything pumpkin: Coffee. Bread mix. Cream cheese. Pancake mix. Pumpkin Butter. Beer. OMG. I think I skipped around the patrons in the store screaming, “It’s the great pumpkin, Charlie Brown!” Wait, what? (God pumpkins are making me insane!)

I seriously wanted it all, but I stopped myself. I walked out with two mini pumpkins, the pancake mix, and the pumpkin butter. Next week I’m going back for the rest. NO PUMPKIN LEFT BEHIND. What’s wrong with me? Save me.

Okay. What am I rambling about? Pumpkins? My sanity? Oh, yeah. We’re getting to a recipe. Bear with me.

So, now I’m home with TWO boxes of pancake mixes. I freaking fail. Such a cheater.

I opened the Hungry Jack mix. Then I stared at the pumpkins. Oh damnit. Why didn’t I open the pumpkin mix? Oh, but hello, pumpkin butter! Oh, hello recipe.

Cheaters’ Pumpkin Pancakes

1/3 cup Hungry Jack pancake mix
1 tbsp pumpkin butter
1/4 cup canned pure pumpkin

That’s it. Add the ingredients in a bowl. Add a bit of water to mix if batter is lumpy, until its reached a pancake batter consistency. Spray pan with non-stick spray and cook over medium heat.  Then shovel into your mouth. Try to take a breath somewhere between forkfuls, promise?

I tried not to like these, but they came out all fluffy and thick and beautiful. Then I added more pumpkin butter on top, along with some syrup and golly jeez, I was infatuated. Damn. That kinda sucks.

But, I can vouch that homemade pancakes fill me up better! Or maybe it’s just because I had them for dinner? Not too long after I consumed these, I ate a bowl of carrots and hummus. Either I was still hungry, or am I just trying to succeed in turning myself orange?

Which do you prefer? Homemade, or boxed pancakes?

5 Responses to “Cheaters’ Pumpkin Pancakes”

  1. Lily Dove October 15, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    You are so funny lol They sound good!

  2. Jeanne October 15, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    There are some really kick ass pancake mixes out there – but it’s not that hard to make your own. I love your recipes, Jos!!

  3. Heather @ Kiss My Broccoli October 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Ok, so you totally had me cracking up at your inner dialogue! Bahaha! I definitely know what it’s like to hear a food call me by name…coughBiscoffSpreadcough! 😉

    Looks like you like your pancakes about as much as I do! Might have to try one of your recipes!

    • Joslyn October 17, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

      what does biscoff spread taste like? i saw it in stores a few weeks ago, but the blog world seems to have become obsessed with it as well, and i have an easily impressable personality, so i’m scared to try it! haha!

  4. April September 23, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    I loved this post before I even got to the recipe. You had me at Matt Nathanson…and pumpkin. Two of my favorite things. I just canned a batch of caramel pumpkin butter this morning! I hope my husband learns to love pumpkin soon because I’m making theses babies in the morning! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

