Blueberry Raspberry Cottage Cheese Pancakes

13 Oct

These taste like warm berry pie, and I am not even exaggerating.

A friend of mine sent me a recipe for cottage cheese pancakes awhile back, and its just been sitting in my inbox patiently, waiting to be tweaked. (To those going “Yuck! Cottage cheese!” I promise you cannot taste it at all once cooked).

I house sat a few nights for my mom earlier this week. She bribed me by buying me 4 pounds of fruit. Plus she has a new kitten. Needless to say I happily obliged. Kitten cuddles and endless amounts of handfuls of fruit? OK. Twist my arm a lil more, why dontcha?

I had just gone crazy grocery shopping myself, ($60 of food people. You know there’s going to be a few recipes coming up!) so this morning I opened my overfilling refrigerator and just stared at all the different options. Cottage cheese and fruit stood out the most to me, and I remembered said almost forgotten recipe awaiting me.

Tossing a few things into a bowl, I did NOT expect the outcome to these pie-like pancakes. Holy crap. The berries warmed and exploded while cooking, resulting in pockets of sweet gooey heaven. Oh, my.

The only bad thing about these sweet cakes from above, is they take a LONG time to cook. OK, fine. 3 minutes on each side isn’t too long, but when you’re hungry like this gal: still wearing a robe, spatula in hand, you will stare at them hoping your glare will cook them quicker! Note: it doesn’t. Damn.

Not my failed cake on the left. I flipped that bad boy a little too soon, and had to do a little pancake reconstruction. Whoopsies!

Blueberry Raspberry Cottage Cheese Pancakes
(aka berry pie pancakes from heaven!)

Serves 1

Ingredients:

1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup cottage cheese
1 tsp cinnamon
2 tbsp almond milk
2 tbsp water
1 tbsp flax seed
handful of blueberries and raspberries

Mix flax seed and water in a bowl and let sit, for a minute or so. Add in all other ingredients (minus fruit) and mix well. Add a handful or so of blueberries and raspberry  and gently fold into batter.

Coat a large nonstick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium. Cook each pancake until edges turn brown, and little bubbles appear on top; about 3 minutes each side.


Plate and dig in. Enjoy the sweetness.

I couldn’t wait to dig into these, hence my rushed sloppy photos! I totally took my time eating each and every bite though, don’t you worry your pretty face!

Writing this, I just got an idea of a CHEESCAKE version of these. Bless my heart. Hmmm…breakfast for dinner? 😉

What’s your favorite type of pie? Do you enjoy berry?

Leave a Reply

