Strawberry Pear Pancake Bake

4 Oct

What is it about weekends that make you lazy and want to stay in bed all morning? Who knows. But I do know that this past weekend, while lounging around in my PJ’s wondering what I should make for breakfast, this idea popped into my mind! Laziness = brilliantness?

Weekends usually equal new pancake creations for me, because I have time to stand around and play with different ingredients. Once I figured out what I wanted on this particular morning though, I was feeling lazy again. Figures.

Instead of standing around waiting to flip the ‘cakes, I stuck everything in my new star-shaped baking ramekin I found at the Dollar Store & plunked that sucker into the oven. Out popped a delicious bake.

This is now on my “I need to make this again ASAP” breakfast list.

Strawberry Pear Breakfast Bake

Ingredients:

1/4 c whole-wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 c non-dairy milk of your choice
1 pear, diced
1/4 cup strawberries, diced

Pre-heat over to 350 degrees. Add all ingredients to a bowl (minus fruit) and mix until batter is clump free. Add fruit and gently stir into batter. Transfer batter to ramekin and cook for 25 – 30 minutes, or until top of bake is springy to touch. Easy! Yummy!

If you don’t want your fruit to sink to the bottom during baking, first toss them in a tbsp or so of flour. I don’t care, so my fruit sinks like Titanic. I’ll never let go bake, I’ll never let go…

Top with an extra fruit you may have left over, and some plain greek yogurt mixed with cinnamon and you’ve got yourselves a meal, kids.

Leave a Reply

