Banana Pumpkin Spice Latte Bread with Pumpkin Cream Topping

26 Sep

I LOVE FALL.

Fall reminds me of hoodies and sweaters and scarves and boots.
Fall is when you sit inside curled under blankets with hot chocolate and a book.
Fall is when bananas and apples are in their prime.
Fall is when the air gets crisp and the leaves change colors.
Fall is usually when I can find at least one of my bands on tour 😉

But most importantly, fall is THE RETURN OF PUMPKIN SPICE LATTES AND FRAPPS.

I’m not much of a Starbucks drinker any longer, but there is something about those damn Pumpkin Spice concoctions that get me going into the Bux.

Last week, on a 10 hour drive home from Las Vegas, I needed a caffeine fix. So we stopped to get a Pumpkin Spice Frapp, and I added a blended banana to mine for substance. HOLY. It was the most amazingly delicious thing I’ve ever slurped through a straw.

Yesterday, while grocery shopping, I found discounted browning bananas for a buck. I automatically grabbed a bunch and started thinking of what I could bake once I got home. I love bananas far too much, so they never quite last long enough in my apartment to get to the “so brown the only thing i can do with these naners is bake with ’em” stage.

So, once I got home I automatically knew I wanted banana bread. As I was making it, I started a thought process. How good is this going to taste with coffee tomorrow morning? Especially pumpkin spiced flavored. Mmm, pumpkin bread. Hmmm…banana and pumpkin bread? Holy shiznit, I have instant coffee. Could I recreate that drink as BREAD? Yes. Yes I could.

So into my bowl I added some pumpkin and instant coffee and put that sucker into my oven hoping for the best. Out came a thick, moist, banana and pumpkin sweetened bread with a hint of coffee. It may not taste exactly like the frapp, but this is so good I’m pretty sure it’ll be entirely consumed by Wednesday.

Banana Pumpkin Spice Latte Bread

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups whole-wheat flour
1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2 bananas)
1 flax “egg” (1 tbsp flax-seed + 3 tbsp water. Use this if you are out of eggs like I was. Note to self: check fridge for eggs before baking…)
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp pumpkin spice
Sprinkle of Trader Joe’s Sugar Chocolate & Coffee Bean grinder

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Mix all dry ingredients, then add wet. Mix well. Your arm will probably feel like its going to fall off, but just consider it your strength workout for the day. Add batter to an oiled or non-stick sprayed bread pan, and then sprinkle TJ’s Sugar Chocolate & Coffee Bean grinder on top for an extra “pow”. If you don’t own this grinder you need to run out and buy it right now. Seriously. Go. Now. Why are you still reading this?

Bake for 45 – 50 minutes, or until inserted knife comes out clean.

This morning I decided to overdose on the ‘kin and enjoyed two slices topped with some “pumpkin cream” and pumpkin spice coffee with pumpkin spice latte creamer. Am I going to turn orange now?

Pumpkin Cream

2 tbsp canned pumpkin
2 tbsp plain greek yogurt

Add yogurt  and pumpkin in a small bowl and mix well. Top with more of that magic TJ’s grinder. Enjoy the deliciousness of pumpkin-y protein.

One Response to “Banana Pumpkin Spice Latte Bread with Pumpkin Cream Topping”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2 minute Banana Pumpkin Yogurt. « Complimentary Breakfast - September 28, 2011

    […] was mixin’, I decided to make it a leftover overhaul and warmed my last piece of Banana Pumpkin Spice Latte Bread to top my creation. DOUBLE BEST DECISION […]

Leave a Reply

