How I make a protein shake.

22 Sep

Have you ever made a Green Monster?

I know. It looks a little intimidating. Its frozen. And green. And made with SPINACH?

But have no fear, little breakfasters! This monster won’t hurt you.

The best part about protein shakes in general is you can make them anyway you like. Green ’em up, if you like. Keep them simple. Its all up to you.

I am a huge lover of the ‘tein, so I’ve made probably at least 100 shakes in my life.

The first step to making a really good shake is blending the ice. I have an extremely old and crappy blender that is probably going to keel out on me any day now, but that baby has an “ice blender” button that works wonders. Make sure you blend the ice well enough so it doesn’t have any chunks!

Second off, is choosing your liquid. I 95% of the time use almond milk. Sometimes I get fancy and use coffee if I have any leftover (chilled!) from a previous brew. But always, always, use some type of liquid that has some sort of thickness to it, otherwise your shake will come out thin and no bueno. (IE. water doesn’t cut it. Plus it’ll taste horrid.)

Third is choosing the right protein powder. I am a fan of Jillian Michael’s brand (and not just because I’ve met her a few times and I have a hardcore girl crush on her…) You can find it for really cheap ($10) at Target or Wal-Mart. Pure Protein is another brand I enjoy, as is About Time. (Um, hello? CAKE BATTER and PEANUT BUTTER flavors? Yes, please!) If you choose a crappy protein, you will get a crappy shake, so make sure you pick a good one! Sometimes one scoop of powder isn’t enough; if you double it up, it comes out a lot thicker and creamier. Mmmm.

Finally, fourth is the add ins. This is the fun part! I am a huge fan of adding in frozen fruit. Bananas, strawberries, mangoes, apricots, peaches, blueberries…I’ve done them all. If you use frozen fruit, you can cut back on how much ice you use, also. (In a typical shake I usually use 4 – 6 ice cubes.) You can also add flax seed, almonds, peanut butter, any flavor of extract – go crazy! You’re the one going to be drinking it!

If you want to make a GREEN shake, add in spinach. I know that might sound disgusting to most of you, but I promise you can’t even taste it! And don’t you want to get a punch of protein and serving of veggies without really having to EAT it? Of course you do. Trust me on this. If I lie you can come back and throw the shake in my face, Glee style. Deal?

So, get blending happy my friends, and let me know what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

