Funfetti Cake Batter Waffles

1 Sep

Oh yes. You read THAT right!

See those little blue and pink spots in those waffles?

I decided to get a little…creative this morning. It was one of those, “Ugh its only Thursday. Ugh its early. Ugh its cold outside and I don’t want to get out of bed. Ugh!” mornings.

I thought to myself: what would make you happy right now? COFFEE. AND CUPCAKES. Ok, coffee I can do. Cupcakes at 7am? Not so much.

But then I got to thinking…last week I made a bunch of mini cupcakes for some friends, and only used half a box of the mix (Hey, let me be. Sometimes I’m lazy and used boxed mix. Big deal!)

As I showered, my mind thought of all the wonderful things I could make with funfetti mix. Pancakes. French Toast. Oatmeal. When the wheel stopped spinning on waffles, and I was stoked. Waffles. Waffles. Waffles! Cake batter waffles!

As the coffee was brewing, I got to experimenting. Oh baby. You need these in your life. Possibly in the next hour. Possibly right this second. I may or may not be planning on making a huge batch of these this weekend and freezing them so I can pop ’em in the toaster whenever I get a craving, because they are THAT good. (You can come over and raid my freezer anytime you like. Just bring me a gift in return.)

I present to you, my new baby. May I announce the birth of:

Funfetti Cake Batter Waffles
serves one

Ingredients:
1 tsp cornstarch
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
21 grams funfetti cake batter
2 tbsp egg beater egg whites
1/4 cup almond milk
1 ripe banana, 1/2 mashed in batter, 1/2 sliced for toppings

Preheat your waffle iron on high while you’re mixing the above ingredients. No order. One bowl. Using a fork is best to smash the banana.

Turn down the heat of the iron to about half way, and spray with non-stick spray (important!)

Pour in the batter. There will be a lot, so it may spill over a bit. Its fine. Just squish all that bad boy in there!

In about 3 – 4 minutes (or whenever the waffle pulls out of the iron cleanly) you’ll have these big, thick, fluffy, cakey-deliciousness waffles. Ohhh baby.

Top with half a banana (or more like 1/4, because part of it always finds itself gravitating towards your mouth instead of waiting 15 minutes to top waffle…) drizzle some sugar free syrup and EAT!

And, may I just brag a little that this, plus my coffee + creamer only clocks in around 350 calories? If I knew how to do cartwheels, I’d do 12 right now…

Have you ever used cake mix for anything other than cake? What’s the craziest thing you’ve ever had for breakfast?

One Response to “Funfetti Cake Batter Waffles”

  1. Ruth September 1, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Sweet! I will have to try this next week. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

