Banana Bread Pancakes with Fresh Berry Sauce

30 Aug

If you’re anything like me, you are obsessed with bananas. You need to have one in your daily consumption. If it goes more then two days you swear you have banana withdraw. Bananas. are. life.

Oh, you’re not like me? Sorry.

But here’s a funny story about ‘naners and me! A few years ago when I was still living at home with my mom, she was going through old papers filed in a cabinet.

“Jos, read this.” I looked at what she handed me. It was an old doctor’s record from when I was about 6 months old. On it, it clearly read: allergic to bananas.

“WHAT?!” I exclaimed, “that’s absurd! I’d be dead if I was allergic!”

Apparently my mother never remembers the doctor ever telling her I was allergic (doh! Mom!) to bananas. And I don’t know how true that really is, considering I’ve been eating bananas for 26 years of life and am still walking, breathing, typing…

ANYWAY. Yesterday I ran 4 miles after work, and for some reason after I run I’m never really hungry. I drank a protein shake with a side of a Vitatop for dinner and called it a night. The morning AFTER I run though…that is a whole other story.

This morning I woke up and my stomach was yelling, “HEY. Good morning, sunshine! Feed me some food! Banana bread sounds amazing!”

I haven’t made naner bread in a long time. Apparently that needs to change. Unfortunately, it takes what seems like a lifetime to bake, and it already takes me a lifetime to crawl out of bed in the morning! Sadly, my craving wasn’t going to go away anytime soon…

So what’s the next best thing?

BANANA BREAD PANCAKES. Duh.

Banana Bread Pancakes
makes 3 thick pancakes
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 cup oat flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp brown sugar
dash of cinnamon
dash of pumpkin spice
1/3 cup almond breeze
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 small ripe banana, smashed

Fresh Fruit Sauce
1/4 cup fresh strawberries
1 tsp chia seeds

Directions:

Add the 1/4 cup of whole wheat flour, 1/4 cup of oat flour, baking powder, brown sugar, cinnamon, pumpkin spice in a bowl. (I don’t have oat flour on hand, ever. I just use my coffee bean grinder and ground up dry oats whenever I need it. Inventive? Sure.)

In another bowl, smash the banana. Forks work best. Add the vanilla extract. Add to dry ingredients, and add 1/3 cup Almond Breeze (or whatever milk you have on hand. Non-dairy, or moo milk. Whatevs!)

Mix ingredients well. It’ll be pretty clumpy.

Cook each pancake until light brown on each side; usually 2 -3 minutes.

For the fruit sauce, cut up 1/4 a cup of fresh strawberries. Place in a microwave safe dish, and microwave on high for 1 minute. Add 1 tsp of chia seeds and mix well. Let sit for a few minutes to gel over. I made this while flipping pancakes, so by the time they were all done, the spread was nice and thick. Mmmmm…

Banana bread and strawberries. Life is good.

2 Responses to “Banana Bread Pancakes with Fresh Berry Sauce”

  1. DawnL Jones September 11, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    I tried this recipe today and LOVED it! I’ve never been a fan of bananas, but I do love banana bread, so I thought I would like these pancakes and I was NOT disappointed.

    I made the following substitutions: regular white flour for the oat flour; regular milk for the almond breeze; 1/8 tsp of nutmeg, allspice & cloves for pumpkin spice. I used 1/4 tsp of cinnamon as well. I doubled the recipe since I was making it for 2 people and got 8 1/4 cup pancakes.

    I wasn’t quite daring enough to go with the fruit sauce today, but the pancakes were quite tasty with syrup as well. And I’m not a fan of syrup on my pancakes!

    Thanks for the new twist on pancakes!

    • Joslyn September 11, 2011 at 11:16 am #

      I’m glad you liked them! 😀

Leave a Reply

