Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes.

29 Aug

I won’t lie. I have two major weaknesses when it comes to food: cupcakes & peanut butter.

You can only imagine how ridiculously giddy I was when I stumbled across a recipe while browsing through a cookbook for PB AND JELLY CUPCAKES. Do you KNOW how many cupcakes and pb & j sandwiches I’ve consumed in my life?! It’s up there. Waaaaay up there…

So, the same day I discovered the recipe, I went home, worked out, had a protein shake for dinner…and made cupcakes. HA!

These are vegan, and made with whole wheat flour, and are definitely more like a muffin than a cupcake…but are still de.lici.ous. They’re like crack. I ate one, then I wanted another right away. And is it wrong that these are already peanut buttery sweet, and I just wanted to smother MORE pb on top of it?! I have issues…

Seeing as I’m not vegan, next time I’ll probably use an egg and change a few things to make them more cake-like. But until then:

PB & Jelly Crack-cakes…whoops, cupcakes!

Makes 12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

1.75 cups whole wheat flour
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup organic sugar
2/3 almond milk (or any other non-dairy milk. feel free to use actual milk if you don’t need these to be vegan)
1/4 cup PB

Filling:

1/3 fruit preserves (i use strawberry, but I’m a huge fan of apricot as well!)
1/3 cup PB

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cupcake pan with non-stick spray (or use liners. I was out.) Mix dry ingredients, then add wet in a large bowl. Fill each cupcake well with batter about half way, then add 1/2 tsp of each preserves and pb on top. Add additional batter on top, until each well is about 3/4 filled.

Bake for about 20 minutes, or until tops are browned at edges. Then try not to eat a dozen cupcakes.

2 Responses to “Peanut Butter and Jelly Cupcakes.”

  1. Jeanne August 29, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    Variations on PB & J welcome news to a weary world.

  2. Julia August 29, 2011 at 4:36 am #

    Yummalicious. I think I’ll add more liquid next time, cause mine turned out more like muffins even though I threw an egg in there. I was a little too generous with batter and stuffy with insides, haha.

Leave a Reply

