French Toast Oatmeal

29 Aug

I love breakfast. A lot. Hence breakfast in the blog title. Sometimes when I go to bed, and as I’m falling asleep, I think about what I’m going to have the next morning. Is that weird? I don’t know. Sometimes I dream about those morning meals. Pancakes. Oatmeal. Waffles. Omelets. French Toast. Hash browns. Oh lord, I love breakfast…

I stumbled across this recipe on Edible Perspective a few months ago, and fell IN LOVE. Honestly. I think I had this for breakfast every morning for a month straight. I could not stop myself. I can have french toast AND oatmeal? Oh yes.

Eventually, I burned myself out of French Toast Oatmeal, but I did not forget about it. I was telling a couple friends about this meal the other day, and they both gave me weird looks when I told them the ingredients.

“Don’t hate it unless you ate it!” I exclaimed. Still, odd looks.

This morning I decided I was going to revisit my old friend. So I present to you, French Toast Oatmeal! Thanks, Ashley!

French Toast Oatmeal
Adapted from Ashley’s recipe

Ingredients

1/2 cup quick cook oats
3/4 cup almond breeze
3/4 cup water
dash of cinnamon
1 small banana
1 tbsp ground flax seed meal
1/2 tbsp vanilla extract
1 egg white (a whole egg works, too!)

First step, combine oats, almond milk, water, cinnamon and half of the banana thinly sliced in a small pot, over medium heat.

Whisk those bad boys occasionally, so it does not stick to the bottom of the pot, but don’t over-mix. Eventually it’ll start to thicken.

Before most of the liquid is absorbed, add flax seed and vanilla extract. Don’t be afraid of flax seed! It’s your friend!

Now, I know this is gonna sound weird. I went, “Eh?!” the first time I read the next step but: add an egg. Shut up, don’t say anything. I know it looks like snot. JUST DO IT. Crack that egg.  (I’m trying to use up a carton of Egg Beaters, so I used those instead. It all works the same.)

Whisk the egg whites until completely mixed, then let it be. After a minute or two, it’ll look like this. Good.

Transfer to bowl, and top with whatever you normally put on french toast. I added whatever was left of the second half of the banana that did not make it into my mouth as I was cooking, and vanilla and caramel flavored almonds. Topped with some sugar-free syrup, and tada! You got yourself some oatmeal that tastes just like french toast! BOMB.

EAT UP, kids!

Do you have a favorite go-to breakfast? What is your favorite morning meal?

2 Responses to “French Toast Oatmeal”

  1. Jeanne August 30, 2011 at 3:20 am #

    Yummy!

  2. Ashley August 30, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Yummm!! Love the intro. 🙂 Mixing eggs into my oats is definitely a favorite!

Leave a Reply

