Rock N Read: Parachute

28 Aug

Rock N Read: Parachute

Welcome to the first feature of Rock N Read! This is something that I am very excited to start, as it combines two of my favorite things: music & books.

More importantly, it involves asking my favorite musicians three questions: What is the last book you read? What is the current book you’re reading? And, what is your all time favorite book?

So, lets talk about Parachute for a sec! I stumbled across this little band from Charlottesville, Virgina back in 2008. I was automatically charmed by their first single, “She Is Love” and fell in love with their debut album “Loosing Sleep” pretty much after my first listen.

Old photo from 2008. But, you get the gist. That’s us.
P.S. We’re all still just as cute, years later! 😉

Fast forward to 2011. I’ve seen the boys live a few dozen times. We’ve chatted it up several times. We’ve had sing-a-longs in cars. Fashion shows in Urban Outfitter dressing rooms. They’ve toured on their own, and they’ve also scored some awesome opening act slots for big named musicians like Kelly Clarkson. I’m a proud mama.

Their second album, “The Way It Was” was released a few months ago, and it is as fabulous as their first. Friday night I saw them headline a show in Fresno at Fulton 55, and I asked them to participate in my geek-tastic blog feature. They were into it.

Here’s what the boys had to say:

Will Anderson: Lead vocals, guitar, keyboard

Last book read: East of Eden by John Steinbeck
Currently reading: James Cook
Favorite: The Godfather by Mario Puzo

Nate McFarland: Lead guitar, back-up vocals

Last book read: Hannah Coulter by Wendell Berry
Currently reading: The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger (Recommended by yours truly! Years ago. Re-recommended a few weeks ago and he finally listened, and is loving it. That’s right. 😉 )
Favorite: Great Expectations by Charles Dickens or Cry, The Beloved Country by Alan Paton

Alex Hargrave: Bass

Last book read: The Road by Cormac McCarthy
Currently reading: n/a
Favorite: The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain

Johnny Stubblefield: Drums

Last book read: Flight of Passage: A Memoir by Rinker Buck
Currently reading: When Giants Walked The Earth: A Biography of Led Zeppelin by Mick Wall
Favorite: Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger

Kit French: Keyboard, Saxophone, Tambourine, backing vocals

Last book read: Reality Hunger: A Manifesto by David Shields
Currently reading: Across the Great Divide
Favorite: Anything by Jorge Luis Borges

I loved hearing what the guys were into, and definitely can’t wait to do another feature!

Ah, see! Still cute in 2011!

One Response to “Rock N Read: Parachute”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How I Spent My Summer Vacation, Part 5 « Complimentary Breakfast - September 11, 2011

    […] I got all geeky on them and pulled out my Harry Potter notepad and asked them to participate in my Rock N Read segment. They were totally down for it, so I’m glad! I think it’s going to be […]

Leave a Reply

