Pump, pump, pump, pump it up!

28 Aug

I think I have a problem.
I am a hoarder….

of canned pumpkin.

OK, ok. I know what you’re thinking:
Joslyn, what does one need SO MANY cans of pumpkin for?

Last year there was a short on pumpkin, and I couldn’t find cans of it ANYWHERE. Whenever I needed a ‘kin fix, I couldn’t feed the need! So, this past fall as soon as I saw those beautiful little cans hit the shelves, I stocked up. Don’t worry, they don’t expire until the end of ’12, so I have until the end of the world to consume them. ;))

One morning, I was glad I had those cans stacked up awaiting for me, because I had the ultimate craving for:

PUMPKIN WAFFLES

Droooooooool. I think you need to run out and buy a can of pumpkin, and then come back and meet me here and make these immediately.

Perfect Pumpkin Waffles:

1 tsp cornstarch
1/4 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch of cinnamon
pinch of pumpkin pie spice
2 tbsp egg beater egg whites (or 1 full egg white. or hell! get crazy and use a full egg!)
1/4 cup almond milk
1/4 cup canned pumpkin

Preheat your waffle iron on high while you’re mixing the above ingredients. No need to mix the wet and dry ingredients separately first…I just throw everything in the same bowl (less dishes, what up!) and they turn out fine! Turn down the heat of the iron about half way, spray with non-stick spray (important!) & pour in the batter. In about 3.5 minutes (or whenever the waffle pulls out of the iron cleanly) you have these big, fluffy, pumpkiny, delicious waffles.

Top with half a banana & 1 tbsp sugar free syrup and EAT!

You can thank me later.

One Response to “Pump, pump, pump, pump it up!”

  1. Lily Dove October 3, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    I have to try these!

Leave a Reply

